RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Replacing prototype server with the real deal

gfiske

I've been tinkering around with WHS 2011 for a few months now on an old machine with partially failing parts and figured it was about time to put together the real deal. The server will mostly be used for storing my business files as well as all of my wife and my docs, pics, music and movies and will also be used to transcode video (standard and hd) to various devices around the house with no more than 2 streams at a time. I realise that transcoding performance and power savings don't usually go hand in hand but any tips/alternative parts to get it fairly low in power usage would be great.

Specs so far:

Case: Lian Li PC-Q25 Black Hot Swap Mini Tower Case

PSU: Seasonic M12II 520W Modular PSU

MB: ASUS P8H67-I Mini ITX Motherboard B3

CPU: Intel Core i5 2400

RAM G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-10666CL7D-8GBXH (2x4GB) DDR3

HDD (System): Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB HD502HJ

HDD (RAID5): 5 x Western Digital Green 2TB WD20EARX

Cheers.

I've been tinkering around with WHS 2011 for a few months now on an old machine with partially failing parts and figured it was about time to put together the real deal. The server will mostly be used for storing my business files as well as all of my wife and my docs, pics, music and movies and will also be used to transcode video (standard and hd) to various devices around the house with no more than 2 streams at a time. I realise that transcoding performance and power savings don't usually go hand in hand but any tips/alternative parts to get it fairly low in power usage would be great.

Specs so far:

Case: Lian Li PC-Q25 Black Hot Swap Mini Tower Case

PSU: Seasonic M12II 520W Modular PSU

MB: ASUS P8H67-I Mini ITX Motherboard B3

CPU: Intel Core i5 2400

RAM G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-10666CL7D-8GBXH (2x4GB) DDR3

HDD (System): Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB HD502HJ

HDD (RAID5): 5 x Western Digital Green 2TB WD20EARX

Cheers.