RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Looking to build WHS box

CarlV

Hello I'm newb to the Home Server Show forum and was looking to build my first WHS 2011 box. Big fan of the site and I enjoy the podcasts as well.

I'm in IT and over the years built several servers (both Windows and Linux) but my specialty is more into routing/switching and security. I usually build my own PCs but this is my first time building a WHS box. Terms like Micro ATX are not familiar to me and I’m not sure if these components are compatible with each other. I also don’t know if I’m going overboard with the power supply. I don’t anticipate adding any more components other then more hard drives.

Mostly I would like to utilize the WHS for streaming movies to my PS3 or AppleTV. I would also use it as an itunes server and backup data on my PC and laptop. The WHS box would reside in my basement closet alongside my router/switch so noise isn't too much of a concern. Lastly I don’t know much about DNLA and if I build my own server does this prevent streaming media because I’m not DNLA compliant.

I created a wishlist on newegg and would appreciate any comments.

Thanks in advance!

The OS is what makes it DNLA compliant and WHS is compliant. I don't know anything about AMD so I will let others comment on the hardware.

You will want more than two 1 TB drives though. Most, me included, would tell you to use two drives in raid1 for the OS. You don't want any data on the OS drives so you will need more drives.