RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New & Building WHS2011

chris4851

Hi everyone. I am new to WHS2011 however I am not new to the HTPC world. I have already built my windows media center PC. I want to add a WHS to the mix now for backup as well as central storage capabilities. I have put together, what I think is a budget friendly yet powerful WHS system. Also, all the hardware/software is available at my local Micro Center store. Please take a look and comment as necessary. Also, the system will be located in my basement “IT” closet so I’m not concerned much with noise or lights.

NZXT H2 Case - $79.99

WHS 2011 Software - $49.99

Gigabyte GA-H67MA-USB3-B3 Motherboard - $109.99

Intel Core i3-2100 CPU - $99.99

Corsair DDR3-1333 8GB Dual Channel Memory - $49.99

Cool Master eXtreme 600W Power Supply - $57.99

Total - $448

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pcdoc

• jmwills

• ikon

• chris4851

Top Posters In This Topic

Looks pretty good to me. The other thing I would watch out for when thinking about moving media from your HTPC to 2011, is your network. I ran into issues when I had too many ethernet switches in the path, which lead to skipping and jerkyness. I'm in the midst of switching over to nothing but home-run cabling to 1 central switch. Wireless can also be an issue for streaming, but some people here seem to have got it to work, although I'm not sure if they have blu-ray working over wireless, and if they have, which kind of wireless.