RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

The Build: Frankenserver 2

Frankenserver

First post... Well, I already built a WHS v1 21 drive Norco case server and muddled through it a couple years ago. I am an amateur hobbyist who's focus skews to media storage, and audio. I am not a big gamer. I have 6 TV's and 4 PC's accessing storage on two servers. I use a Ceton Infinity TV card for Cable TV and use EBaY acquired WMC extenders on all but one TV. I play with an XBox a touch for WMC control as well. Not much though.

My little HP WHS box is close to dying. I get permanent heat warnings and weird fan warnings as well. It's strange the measured CPU and drive temps are not high but the heat warnings stay on. I bought the little bugger the first week out, added RAM and swapped the CPU out. With the family pics and my wife's primary storage device, divorce will occur if the little HP finally dies. I back up everything to my other WHS Server so it's OK but if it totally fails...... there still is a price to be paid.

What a great excuse to build another server. My goal is to have a new server. called Frankenserver2 (Since I built it from parts on sale, stuff sitting around, and with a mind truly not geared to tech - PC's are not my trade). This server is to serve multiple purposes. 1) Store all our family data. 2). Store more movies and such - as my other 37TB unit is filling up. 3). Transcode all the movies and media to other devices as my kids grow up. 4).. Act as our primary server to the internet and family simplistic web site. (Currently the little HP does this). My other server is relegated to movie storage.