RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
Shoop

Need more than 2TB.

Shoop

I just started messing with WHS about 2 weeks ago so I am new to all this. I need a solution to the 2TB limit. I installed a 2TB hard drive in my WHS 2011. I then moved the "Videos" folder to it because I knew that I would need more than 500GB (OS drive) for my movie collection. Now I have filled up the 2TB hard drive and need a way to add more space for my "Videos" folder. I know that drive extender was left out of WHS 2011. What is the easiest way to increase the size of my video folder beyond 2TB if i have another hard drive to add?

Edited by Shoop

jmwills

Internal or external, you're going to be looking at a RAID solution. There has been a discussion about the new Lian-Li EX 503B which seems to be a more addfordable solution than Drobo if you can live without a network port.

The only other solution is managing individual drives for individual folders which to me seems to more work than its worth.

Just my opinion.

timekills

I agree with jmwills regarding RAID, although I'll assume for the moment you don't want to take that path. You can add another drive, and then add it to your Videos library in Windows 7. It becomes even more transparent if you use WMC addins such as My Movies because they will search across all drives you specify and list all the available videos regardless of on which drive they are stored. The problem here, potentially, would be in the media sharing and/or transcoding capabilities of WHS 2011. As I have a rather large video share, I'm not certain if you can add multiple drives/folders to the specified Video share (or Music, for that matter.)

pcdoc