RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

WHS 2011 installation failure

rokonn

I have been using v1 for a few years now and have finally decided to upgrade to WHS 2011. I bought a new computer for that purpose and bought a copy of WHS 2011. When attempting to install it I encountered an error saying drivers were not available for the Ethernet controller, Network controller, PCI simple communications Controller, and SMB bus controller. I had saved the folder "Windows Home Server Drivers for Restore" to a USB drive and had the USB drive inserted when trying to install 2011 for the 2nd time. Still with the same results. The folder I had saved was from a backup of the new machine to my v1 home server. I had made a backup of the new PC to my v1 server before attempting the install of 2011. I'm not sure where to turn now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you're installing WHS2011, you need 64-bit drivers. If you don't have a CD with 64-bit drivers for the motherboard, you'll need to get them from the motherboard manufacturer. Vista or Windows 7 drivers will work.

I have seen that a couple of times and all I had to do was to put the MFG CD in the drive and let it detect it.

If you're installing WHS2011, you need 64-bit drivers. If you don't have a CD with 64-bit drivers for the motherboard, you'll need to get them from the motherboard manufacturer. Vista or Windows 7 drivers will work.

The PC that I had backed up to my v1 server is a 64-bit machine running WIN 7 so the drivers that were saved to the server should be 64 bit drivers, right? I had all of those drivers on a flash drive inserted while doing the install.

What else should I look for?

What MFG CD? This is a new PC and I have made the recovery disc set. I have tried loading each of the 3 discs to see if it would find drivers there. Any other suggestions?

I have seen that a couple of times and all I had to do was to put the MFG CD in the drive and let it detect it.