Jump to content
RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New Install of WHS 2011 - Two Questions for the Forum


fbrito
 Share

Recommended Posts

Finally upgraded the server and installed WHS 2011. I have two questions.

 

1. During initial install, I don't think I saw a screen to change the workgroup name of the server, so it is at "workgroup." Am I stuck with that workgroup name now forever?

 

2. I installed the connector software on two of my machines. It did not create the "shared folders" on the desktop of either one of them. Is there a way to manually create this?

 

Thanks a ton. I enjoy both the Homeserver Show and BYOB podcasts!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1. There is no easy way to change the group name once installed. It can be done but in the end it I do not think it is worth he the pain.

 

2. By default, it creates the shared folders as part of the lauchpad and not the desktop. One easy work around if you do not want to use the launchpad is to open the shared folders using launchpad, then just drag a desktop shortcut to your desktop from the title bar of the explorer. Crud but it works.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A Shared Folder link is not created on the desktop as it was in V1....that link is now in the LaunchPad. As far as the Workgroupp issue, let it be...not worth the effort as Doc mentioned.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1. There is no easy way to change the group name once installed. It can be done but in the end it I do not think it is worth he the pain.

 

2. By default, it creates the shared folders as part of the lauchpad and not the desktop. One easy work around if you do not want to use the launchpad is to open the shared folders using launchpad, then just drag a desktop shortcut to your desktop from the title bar of the explorer. Crud but it works.

 

Thanks PC Doc, I should have known #2, must have been a momentary brain fart. Sucks about #1 but at least with homegroups it doesn't really matter.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest no-control

Sucks about #1 but at least with homegroups it doesn't really matter.

 

Rename the clients to "workgroup" ? Not really solving the issue but it does place everyone into the same workgroup.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just for documentation sake check this thread on how to change the workgroup name during setup.

 

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en/whsvailbeta/thread/9562b42c-a252-4c96-8e3d-c2ebbef35275

 

when the setup gets to the part where you are asked to name it, simply hit SHIFT-F10

 

you'll get a command prompt.

 

Type "control system" and press enter

 

use the system control panel that pops up to change the workgroup name but leave the server name and everything else alone.

 

close the window, don't reboot the system.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest no-control

Just for documentation sake check this thread on how to change the workgroup name during setup.

 

http://social.micros...3d-c2ebbef35275

 

 

 

That's great if you're reinstalling the OS, but once it creates the certificate its a major task (for most) to fix it.

 

Personally I would either reinstall and use the method Dave listed if its a relatively new server (ie not alot of setup done to it). Otherwise have all the clients join the new "workgroup"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...