RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

File Transfer Issue

JDog04

Newbie here needs some help again.

I have an old HP EX475 upgraded to version 3.0 a few months ago and upgraded RAM to 2GB. Ever since I've been having problems getting large files onto the server unless it was part of a restore from external backup drives. Whether directly via the USB ports (jumpdrive) or via another PC (Vista or Windows 7), file transfer using windows explorer is a not working properly. I usually transfer large video files ranging from 100MB to 1GB. The transfer usually begins, slows, and then stops with intermitted error messages or no error message. Transferring multiple files results in errors, with the transferred files showing up on the server but with 0 KB file size.

I cannot tell if there is a problem with my home network (I have a D-Link DIR-855 and a D-Link DIR-300 that I use just as a switch and never made any configuration changes to the default settings of the DIR-855). I am also running into problems playing my home videos from my HP Mediasmart Connect.

I have the problem with Twonky Media on or off.

Also concerning is that at times the server is unresponsive, either in the console mode or when connecting directly via remote desktop. When this happens the CPU usage is low (0-5%).

I've run the check disk and it has not turned up any errors.

One peculiar thing is that in console mode, it shows that I have more free drive space than I should with folder duplication 'on'.

I need some help troubleshooting this...don't know where to begin, and I'm tired of wiping out all my data and restoring from external drives (done this 3 times since Thanskgiving).

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dvn

• ikon

• timekills

• JDog04

Top Posters In This Topic