RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Installing MSS 3 on a non-HP pc

beausee

Hi,

I am a newbie at this so bear with me...

I want to create a install file/disc so that I can install MSS 3.0 on a non-HP pc.

I like the drive extender and the Msc backup possibilities, also the My Movie apps. So this is why I want to do this instead than a Vail machine

I have the hp upgrade MSS 3.0 from HP dvd in my possession (I used to owe a 470x)and I also have a oem version of WHS

All info will be greatly appreciated

I will await your replies with great anticipation

I do not believe it is possible to install MSS 3.0 on another PC, as it is specific for the HP hardware. You will need to use WHSv1 software on a new PC and just install MyMovies.

Edited by Neophyte

I do not believe it is possible to install MSS 3.0 on another PC, as it is specific for the HP hardware. You will need to use WHSv1 software on a new PC and just install MyMovies.

I think Diehard did it! If impossible maybe at least someone could tell me what add-ins/software I cou7ld put over OEM version so that I have almost all capabilities of MSS 3.0

Regards

HP MSS 3.0 uses Twonky for most of its media stuff. They used to have an add-in, but discontinued that. You would need to purchase a license from Twonky, but you can still install on WHS.

http://www.twonky.com/upfiles/Install%20TwonkyServer%20on%20Windows%20HomeServer-EN.pdf

You may find this experience better anyway, because Twonky in MSS 3.0 had problems. Newer Twonky versions corrected the issues, but HP stopped updating it in their software.

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010/03/04/how-to-fix-twonky-issues-in-3-0-patch-2/

Of course, now HP does not support WHS at all. So again it may be a good idea to build your own anyway.

HP MSS 3.0 uses Twonky for most of its media stuff. They used to have an add-in, but discontinued that. You would need to purchase a license from Twonky, but you can still install on WHS.