RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

How to best start a ripped DVD collection

TeamStream

HSS Team, I'm trying to set up a home network with media server from the ground up. Starting with DVD ripping, what is the best software for ripping/transcoding a large library with the least amount of effort, most robust decryption? I started using the trial of AnyDVD but, as far as I can tell, it won't let me do the DVD image copy AND the MP4 with one mouse click.

Any pointers?

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ImTheTypeOfGuy

• ikon

• JediTim

• Lurker

I'm no media expert.

I use the My Movies add-in which uses AnyDVD and an external USB DVD drive connected to my Ex495.

I have it set to create both a Video TS and a MPEG file.

I don't know if this will suite your needs but, it works fine for me.

I just pop the DVD in the external drive and it ejects when the copy has completed. Usually about 30 minutes for both the Video TS and MPEG.

Edited by CBick

I am not aware of anything (yet) that will do both but if you find something let us know. I just use AnyDVD HD along with my favorite ripper. To convert to MP4 I use Pavtube to batch process several movies at once as I want the control.

I'm no media expert.

I use the My Movies add-in which uses AnyDVD and an external USB DVD drive connected to my Ex495.

I have it set to create both a Video TS and a MPEG file.

I don't know if this will suite your needs but, it works fine for me.

I just pop the DVD in the external drive and it ejects when the copy has completed. Usually about 30 minutes for both the Video TS and MPEG.

How do you set up folders and mpeg in one rip?

I like getting the DVD and BD disks down to just the video files. I go through a two step process. I use MakeMKV to ripe the films (it has only failed on a couple of disks) to MKVs and then I use handbrake to format them for different devices (Phone, Nook Color, PS3).

How do you set up folders and mpeg in one rip?