RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Wondering what could be causing my Internet connection to run slow under certain circumstances

Rodf

At this point I am still working from home (WFH) and loving it. 😁

However, I do have some Internet speed issues I'd like help trying to figure out what's happening; what slowing it down. 

Generally speaking, it isn't slowing down for everything. In fact, overall, I'd say this is really good. About 2 years ago I switched from DSL to cable modem access with Sparklight, formerly Cable-ONE. (If you've never heard of them, don't worry about that. I'd never heard of them until we decided to ditch DSL.) I only have Internet with Sparklight. Normally my speeds are 220 to 230 Mbps. For my area, that's really good. Some of my colleagues are getting 2 to 3 Mbps, so I'm quite happy, trust me. We can easily stream on two devices without interruption, pauses, etc.

But what I'm having problems with is sometimes when I'm WFH the lag time is abysmal. I work as a software engineer. The team of developers I work with writes applications on the Microsoft stack, so we're in Visual Studio just about the whole day. This has been working fine for me since March 2020, but under the right conditions its very slow. I'm working on an application which must pull down about 38K records over the wire. Not exactly humongous, but not tiny, either.

As an aside, all our applications are 2-tier apps. I don't know why this is, it just is. I'm guessing the people I work with are afraid of using web services.