RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
TheGuru

Are you running a mailserver on your own server anymore?

TheGuru

Hi!

I wonder if there still are anyone running a mailserver at home. Or has everyone moved to cloud-solutions? I'm still running and maintaining an Exchange server for family and a small-business using a custom domain. (I'm a sysadmin, so Exchange is relatively easy for me to manage).

But I'm trying to reduce my server-footprint and I am also trying to get rid of this time-consuming stuff. Basically, I've become a bit tired of being a sysadmin while at home as well as at work :)

So, am I going in the right direction? Have you skipped all of that a long time ago and moved to gmail?

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

Kind regards,

Bjorn

nrf

wow, you have some stamina to be doing that. I wouldn't even consider it given the challenges of fending off the monsters attacking a server with direct access to the internet.

TheGuru

True,

It’s a risky business. I do have an IDP system in front of the Exchange server and some  OK passwords on all of the accounts, but you’re right. Another reason to get out of this :)

Are you using your own e-mail domain or ?

Edited by TheGuru

nrf
1 hour ago, TheGuru said:

Are you using your own e-mail domain or ?

I haven't gotten that sophisticated. heard a lot about it but not a priority for me. got to keep the farm going and take care of family needs.

TheGuru
12 minutes ago, nrf said:

I haven't gotten that sophisticated. heard a lot about it but not a priority for me. got to keep the farm going and take care of family needs.

Ha ha :) You do look a little sophisticated when I look at your tag line (N45L, a T20, virtualbox...) :)

But thanks for your reply! Keep the farm going strong!

• Like 1

Trig0r