RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
chrisand

Complete Beginner, Don't Know Where to Start

chrisand

Hi all,

I've been researching this, but there's so much information that I'm lost and I think asking the questions here could save me a ton of time. Hopefully some of you have the time to give me a hand.

I like to back up my data and have been thinking about a server for a while. I don't need much space, would just like my files safe and in my control.

I spoke with a friend (that I trust completely) and he suggested that a solid plan might be to use each others houses as off-site backups. I like the idea a lot. In addition, we could try to link them and use them to share files. Nothing specific in mind yet, just sounds cool.

Apparently, a good system is three drives, one of which is empty, and some software that will spot drive errors in the two active ones and initiate the empty one in such an event. Sounds good to me.

BUT, I don't understand the hardware or software requirements.

I've built PC's and have a rudimentary understanding of computer hardware, so I would be relatively comfortable if building is the way to go. I've looked at home servers from companies like Synology and WD. I've looked at mini-itx builds, old Dell Optiplexes, old HP units and more, but really don't know the best way to go.

The networking and software side I know next to nothing about. A program called BORG was mentioned. As was Unraid. As was installing Linux. 

Not being very concise here so I'll try to summarise:

• Off-site back-up and file sharing servers at two locations, mine and my friends house
  • Fail-safe drives/software
  • 3*2tb Drives
  • Private connection between the two locations for file sharing
  • Low power (hoping I can run one under 100W)
  • Small as possible