RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
kfonda

Over my head... a little

kfonda

Hi, I just managed to get my hands on an HP DL380p Gen8 with Dual Xeon E5-2665 8 core processors, 128GB of ram and 8 600GB SAS HD's. My plan is to set it up as a home lab server running a bare metal hypervisor. I have no real experience with any of the hypervisors and would like some opinions on what I should start with.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Trig0r

Why do you want to go bare metal?

What are you trying to achieve?

SortaOldguy
Posted (edited)

I'm interested in doing something similar. Back the homeservershow days I built a server using an ASUS motherboard and i3-2100.

Installed Windows Server 2012 that I had a license for back then and installed WHS2011 as a VM along with some other desktop OS's.  Used WHS to back up the desktops on the home network, but that started getting funky. Used an HD Homerun to record cable TV and save it to the WHS but got rid of cable in favor of AT&T gigabit (which is great). Win Server 2012 is fairly outdated and WHS2011 isn't useful for much. So, I want redo thing,s including maybe using MS Hyper V 2019 stand alone to run various OS's.

The hardware has been working fine for about 6 years with no problems but the occasional drive failure requiring some trouble getting Storage Spaces to release the faulty drive which seems to require moving files around and deleting volumes. But the server won't last forever. Been looking at Youtube videos about Dell R710's being used to set up virtual servers. Appears you can pick up a used one coming off lease for about $200 and was thinking getting one., installing Hyper V Server 2019 which sounds like what you want to do. 

Edited by SortaOldguy
typo

mattb75

Hi

Have used ESXi and Hyper-V separately and now run a hybrid of both in my home network.