RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Good Riddance DE and I welcome WHS2011

edamiga1

DE - Good Riddance and I will be moving to WHS2011.

I have been using WHS for almost 3 years and am not sure how I could live without it. I have 9TB of available Storage spread across 9 drives that range from 750MB to 2 TB. I just finished virtualizing the entire environment onto Hyper-V Core and use the drive pass through feature to get the performance and DE functionality. I use the folder duplication, but I also do offsite backups of my data. I take backups seriously and as you can see DE was something I used a lot, and I am a "trud WHS user", but...

DE was a great idea, but the implementation left a lot to be desired. Below are my biggest issue with DE and reasons why I will not miss it and do not need it.

The biggest issue I have with DE is that peformance and stuttering when streaming HD movies. The demigrator.exe service was always taking up CPU cycles even when I hadn't added a file to the server in over a day. It was too much black magic. I would expect it to run when I added files to a duplicated folder and only then. If it detected that I needed to move files to balance my hardrives then I should be allowed to specify when it should do this or better yet it should detect when I am accessing data and not run at that time. For the majority of my data I will automate the backup feature to duplicate those files I do not want to lose, to drives that are "Green/Inexpensive" once a day. This will also allow the drives to spin down, which I don't think my current WHS ever does. I will also do my weekly offsite backups to removeable drives, so I will be covered.