RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
TomP

Added SAS HBA, but red light bar on the box, advice please

TomP

I've added my 4i SAS HBA and checked it is recognised / working in Win 10 Device Manager, I then moved the system mini-SAS cable to the new card with the OS SSD still on B120i for the moment

When I power up, I get B120i error messages saying the 4 HDDs are failed (i.e. missing?) but when I select F2 to continue, Win 10 still boots up OK and the 4 drives now show in Explorer and the DrivePool is there, so it mostly looks OK, but there is now constant flickering HDD access lights on the HBA card and HDD clicking, whilst the bottom light bar turned to red.

Being a timid newbie, I tried to find the B120i user guide and I found a link here but it didn't work and couldn't find it online, so what should I do the correct the red light and B120i errors?

schoondoggy

The B120i showed an error because after reboot it was missing drives as you moved the drives to a different controller. It should not show that error after future reboots.

Drive clicking is generally not a good sign. It could be that DrivePool is checking drives. You should check in their tools to see that everything is OK. The red light on the front of the server should be listed in the error log in iLo. Log into iLo to see if an error is listed there.

This is the B120i user guide:

https://support.hpe.com/hpesc/public/docDisplay?docId=emr_na-c03326739

• Like 1

TomP
1 hour ago, schoondoggy said:

The B120i showed an error because after reboot it was missing drives as you moved the drives to a different controller. It should not show that error after future reboots.