RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
TomP

Server 2016 Essentials domain restrictions?

TomP

I see domain restrictions mentioned in places here and by Microsoft, but I really do not understand what domains are and I do see that 2016 Essentials install requires a domain location to be defined what cannot then be changed other than by complete install.

For instance, can I still have WHS2011 and Win 10 Microservers (also 2 QNAP NAS) on the same home network as a new Gen 10 with 2016 essentials?

I'm a real newbie as far as this is concerned, so helpful advice would be much apppreciated.

nrf

while you must assign a active directory domain name for the essentials server, if you are very careful you can register your clients without having them become domain members. if you use the 'workgroup' for anything just note that the essential server will be in a domain not a workgroup.

you should be able to find instructions on how to do it via your favorite search engine, for example... server-essentials site . I saved the registry snippet in a .reg file and kept it handy. some odd things can go wrong, you will find some discussions in these forums :( . my approach for the client join includes the following which someone might consider voodoo but as I said odd things...

• manually set dns servers to the target essentials server's IP then the router
  • turn off ipv6
  • launch the downloaded connector file with 'run as administrator'

at the end, if it tells you it is necessary to log off you will know you forgot to run the skipdomainjoin script.

good luck and as always have fun learning!

TomP

Thanks Neil. I have a number of questions on your comments..

"while you must assign a active directory domain name for the essentials server"

> as a newbie, I have heard the terms but do not understand the significance of active directory or domain, although I do know the domain name has to be fixed during installation. Can you help?