RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
Tikanderoga

Thinking about de-virtualizing my MS G10

Tikanderoga

Hi all

Long time lurker.

I've been running a G7 and now a G10 MS with Esxi 5.5, now 6.7 i think, and I'm getting tired of it. It then is a Server 2012R2, running my files and media content.

Also in the fray is an LSI 9210 Raid controller. Used to run Raid 5, but the raid kept degrading and I had to run the software to configure from a bare metal installation or rebuild from the menu, meaning the raid was more in rebuild than in actual use.

I'm thinking about going bare metal,  install Server 2016 and backup the whole stuff regularly to an external NAS, which I've been doing for the past 20 months as it is already with Veeam. 

In case of need for a VM, i've been thinking of firing up HyperV. I know Gen10 doesn't support pass through, so that's one of the main reasons to de-virtualise.

Also thinking about removing the Raid card in the process, going back to stock gear.

Thoughts and suggestions?

schoondoggy

If you are not going to use RAID, I would pull the LSI. 

For any Windows OS I would install on a SSD on the SATA port for the ODD.

I have not had time to do thorough testing, but I like unRAID for storage and some VM use on the MS Gen10:

https://unraid.net/ 

Tikanderoga
2 hours ago, schoondoggy said:

If you are not going to use RAID, I would pull the LSI. 

For any Windows OS I would install on a SSD on the SATA port for the ODD.

I have not had time to do thorough testing, but I like unRAID for storage and some VM use on the MS Gen10:

https://unraid.net/ 

Thanks Schoondoggy

Yeah I've read a few threads about the ODD Sata port.

The idea is to install:

1 60 or 120GB SSD for OS on the ODD port

on the 4 slot ports:

1 500GB SSD for everything incoming

1 6TB HDD for media and storage

1 6TB HDD for replicated backup of the above, and then the drive gets taken offline