RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Restoring a virtualized WHS - help!

eagle63

Hey guys, I've been running WHSv1 on Hyper-V for a couple of months now very successfully. My "system" drive is a virtual hard drive, but I also have three 2TB hard drives in my storage pool which Hyper-V talks to directly (so not virtual disks). I have 2 other PC's in the house which are getting backed up to the WHS.

Anyway, I decided to try a little disaster recovery scenario today just to make sure I could save and restore everything successfully. (as an aside, I've already done this test on my other guest VM's with no problems, just hadn't tried it with WHS until today)

First I "exported" my WHS vm using Hyper-V's export feature. This basically copies the .vhd (virtual hard drive) file and a couple of .xml configuration files to an external drive. Then I deleted the VM from Hyper-V.

Since the 3 storage drives aren't virtualized, I just left those alone.

Finally I "imported" (restored) the WHS vm back into Hyper-V and went into the settings to point it back at the 3 storage drives.

Upon booting up WHS, everything appeared to be running normally except it kept giving me errors that "..the backup service isn't running, click here to run repair on your backups." So I ran repair on the backups. After a few minutes, it came back and said that my backups were unrecoverable and therefore deleted. After that, however, the backup service was running and it was ready to backup my PC's. I took a look around the shared drives to make sure all my data was there, and it was. So after all this, I have 2 questions:

1. How concerned should I be that the backups were destroyed? I don't need them, so I don't care that they got deleted, but what what I care more about is why. Do the backups live on the System drive or in the storage pool? If the backups somehow got messed up, does that mean there might be other lingering problems I'm not aware of?