RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Virtualized my existing WHS V1 = perfection.

edamiga1

I posted a month or so ago about virtualizing my existing WHS V1 and wanted to provide an update after about a month of use.

First off I wanted to go this route to preserve all of my existing data, backups, etc... I have about 8TBs of storage and just wanted to move it over. Secondly, this is part of my mid term strategy of keeping WHS around till around 2013 at least, so I can have drive extender. I have been using virtualization technologies for over 5 years, so am very comfortable with the technology, but had not set up hyper-v before. I can now migrate to WHSv2 at my own pace and I won't have to touch hardware, or even connect to the server.

Hardware: Gigabyte Motherboard, with two 500GB WD black 2.5 HDs in Raid for System and vms, 8GB memory, 4 core intel box.

Virtualization: Hyper-V Core. wanted lean install. This ended up posing some challenges, but gave me what I needed.

VMs: 4 currently, WHSv1, Media Center W7, W7 Professional for development, Vail Beta.

Tools: Disk2Vhd from microsoft great tool, works perfectly. mmc addins for hyper-V that work on Windows 7.

I actually did the conversion twice, not by choice, but after I accidentally destoyed my System Raid and had not done a backup yet. Lesson relearned, backup your system drive and backup often!!!

I am not going to get into the details, that would require a full blog post, but will highlight the main steps and can answer questions as needed.