RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Rodf

What sort of storage do I need for my Nighthawk?

Rodf

This Friday we're switching from using CenturyLink (which we have used for many years) for our ISP, to Cable ONE. (In my area, its either CenturyLink or Cable ONE.) I'm exciting and hoping to experience speeds at least 10 times faster than we've had for many years.

However, with CenturyLink I've never concerned myself with how much data we used. As far as I know, it's been unlimited. With Cable ONE, there's limits. Because of the size of my family, I'm going with the largest plan I can afford. But I now think I should also monitor our internal usage. I'm sure that I could find out, from Cable ONE, what sort of usage we're doing on a monthly basis. That however, will be an aggregate solution. What I'm looking for is some way of knowing what machine is doing what and how often. I work as a programmer, so networking isn't really in my wheelhouse. I've talked to some people at work, who are into networking. In fact, that's their job. This one fellow showed me a display of what was going on in his house, from work! I was completely amazed. He has a Cisco Meraki, which he uses for his home network. There were all sorts of charts and graphs. Live usage, etc. My mouth was salivating. Then he told me the price - $800!!