RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
schoondoggy

OMV openmediavault on HPE MicroServer Gen10

schoondoggy

I am a novice when it comes to OMV, so bear with me as I learn. Hopefully this will be the start of a thread on running OMV on the MicroServer Gen10.
The MS Gen10 I am testing with is a x3421 CPU with 32GB of memory, running BIOS ZA10A360. I will install the OS on a 180GB Intel SSD connected to the ODD SATA port. I have four 2TB SATA drives for storage. The Marvell SATA controller is set to AHCI. It is best to clean/wipe all of your drives before testing
I am running OMV version 4.1.3
https://sourceforge.net/projects/openmediavault/files/
I used Etcher.io as recommended by OMV resources to create a bootable USB stick to install OMV from. I could not get this stick to boot on the MS Gen10. I tried different USB sticks. I tried Rufus to create the image, but it would not boot. I changed the MS Gen10 from UEFI to Legacy Boot and everything installed fine. After getting OMV installed on the SSD and booted, I tried switching back to UEFI, but the server would not boot. I have set the boot to Legacy for the rest of my testing. If any more experienced users have input on the UEFI issue, please jump in. Searching the web has shown that others have had issues booting or installing OMV on UEFI on other systems as well.
After I was comfortable, that OMV was running properly, I went to log on from another system using the Web Control Panel interface to configure OMV. Unfortunately, locally OMV was showing no network connection was available. I logged onto the local machine, the MS Gen10, as root and found the network was active and retrieved the IP address. From the remote PC I was able to ping the IP address and log into the Web Control Panel. The OMV documentation is listed here:
https://openmediavault.readthedocs.io/en/latest/