RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
HawkOne

New N54L setup questions

HawkOne

To the HP Proliant Server experts and users on this forum: I could use some guidance as I have never used nor assembled a server before.

I purchased an N54L from Newegg many moons ago which came with no drive and 4gb memory and I'm finally getting around to putting it together. I purchased and installed:
16gb KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G memory
currently 2 Deskstar 4tb drives (I plan on adding a third as soon as I can find where I put it!)
250gb SSD (Samsung 860 EVO) for the OS

My plan is to use the NAS to store data backups (with other means for redundant backups of important data offsite via rotating external HDD), and to store and serve video for playback on several TVs I have in the house.  The TVs have Rokus or Amazon Fire TV boxes. I also have an HD Homerun dual that I plan to use to grab signal from OTA.

I am looking to install an OS that is inexpensive (or free) that will do a decent job of storing and serving my data and stream videos occasionally.  So my questions are:

1. Will this hardware perform well enough for my needs? That is, is the N54L still worth my time to configure?

2. What OS should I use?  I'd prefer to keep this cheap, so I think WHS is out unless the older versions are available somewhere inexpensively.  I've seen Freenas and Nas4free both mentioned.

3. Do I need to update/upgrade the bios? If so, what version is recommended?

4. What other software do I need to install?

5. Should I upgrade the NIC to the two gigabit card I have seen posted? Will the existing built in NIC be enough for now?

6. Do I need a video card? I've seen references to the Sapphire 5450 and 6450, and the wiki with the list of others suggested.

7. Are there any step-by-step guides (pdf, video) that I can follow?

8. Do I need to set up a RAID, and if so, how do I choose which one? I've never done anything with RAID before.