RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New WHS build - Folder access/backup

Ravi

I am newbie that just finished the build of a WHS using the rosewill 8 bay enclosure and put in 4 X 2Tb hard drives.

My question is that I am able to access the shared folders from other computers on the network and map them to a specific drive name like 'F' drive for the videos shared folder .

But my question is , how do I map directly to one of the 4 drives on the Rosewill enclosure instea of a shared folder ?

ALso , if I store all the videos on drive1 and Pictures on other drive2 , how can I setup a backup of these two drives to Drive 3, 4 ?

Sorry for the stupid questions , but I am not an expert on RAID :)

When I first read this there are a number of things that are wrong assumptions.

1. WHS at this time is not using RAID. If you have a WHS v1 box you are using Drive Extender (unless you did not add your drives to the pool). If you are using Vail you may still be using DE for now.

2. If you added all your drives to the pool, then you can not (and should not) access the individual drives. However, if you have placed drives into the server and not added them to the pool you can go in and assign a drive letter to them, turn on sharing on that drive and then you can access them like any other shared drive on a network. Not advised but can be done.

3. The only way to specify that videos are on drive 1 and pictures on drive 2 is to not add the drives to the pool on the server. You would now be using these drives just like any other drive in a PC. To back up those drives to drives 3 and 4 would require some other software to do it.