RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Windows 10 poor performance on SSD

Nite

Hi All,

New user here & long time owner of the old N40L which has been performing really well for numerous years now. Now that the Gen8 is end of life and the Gen10 has started to become available I ran into some luck with one of my local suppliers last week who happened to still have a single Gen8 Microserver in their warehouse & offered it to me at the same price I paid for my N40L back when HP were still offering rebates on the purchase. Now, I'm completely new to servers in general so mucking around with things like iLO and RAID on this Gen8 is a bit daunting and I'm still trying to come to terms with how to do things in the proper manner however over this weekend I made a homemade FDD to SATA power adapter & installed a Transcend 128GB SSD in the ODD port, I then proceeded to create a single disk RAID 0 array on the SSD (did this by hitting F8 during boot when it showed the B120i startup test/info) and boot off of a USB to start the Windows 10 install.