RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Very Slow WHS Computer

walterwood44

The WHS I have been using for several years was a small form factor HP desktop that had poor air circulation causing it to run hot; the HD and CPU temps were higher than I liked to see. That box had a P4 2.93 GHz CPU and 2 GB RAM with a 533 MHz bus.

Because of the heat issue I recently replaced it with a Compaq minitower that has a Pentium Dual E2140 CPU (1.6 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 800 MHz bus and a new 1.5 GB HD. Because this system had a built in 100 megabit NIC and my home network is gigabit, I added a new gigabit NIC. The WHS software was a clean install on the new HD.

I am finding that this new setup is much S L O W E R than my old system. The new system is so much slower that it will not stream MP3 files without pauses and/or stops. It also takes forever to copy files to and from this new server. Sometimes a copy will fail displaying a message that the connection has been lost.

There have been no changes to my network: a Netgear Gigabit switch and a D-Link N router. The computers and server all go through the switch. I have tried different Ethernet cables. I never had these problems with my older WHS system (which is still online but with a different name).

I realize the new CUP is much slower but I suspect that is not the problem. (I do have a P4 2.93 MHz CPU available to swap in if needed.)

Does anyone have any suggestions on what might be wrong with this new server?

Thanks,

Walter

Have you tried pulling up task manager and see it maybe the CPU is maxing our or running out of RAM?

Maybe your problem is that you need more hard drive space. 1.5GB isn't a whole lot :lol:

• 2 weeks later...

Been busy with the new year and did not get around to replying to usacomp3k3.