RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
ChappyEight

Building New Network (Looking for Verification)

ChappyEight

Okay, so I'll be moving in about a month to a different home and I'm trying to gather the necessary materials to set up a relatively extensive mixed home network.  In order to simply get off the ground and get started, I've chosen the following pieces of equipment:

So, I'm a complete novice when it comes to building a mixed home network that will eventually entail a server room, NAS, etc.  However, I do know that I want all Gigabit equipment and the switch I chose is ginormous simply because I want the overhead to add connections later (IOW, I don't mind that it's overkill).  Also, again just because I can, I'm looking to get primarily enterprise quality equipment.  I'm not looking to burn money just to burn money, but I'm also not afraid to spend a little for a more quality network and something to learn on.

If I'm thinking correctly, I'll connect into the modem , then to the router, then to the firewall (if necessary), then to the switch, then have the controller in one of the switch ports and the POE AP in one of the POE ports on the switch.  This, then, should give me both wired (by plugging Cat6a into the switch for other devices) and wireless access (via the AP), correct?  Am I forgetting/missing something?

Really appreciate you entertaining this novice as I try to learn/build this network.  You can see my ultimate goals here (Lofty, I know).

itGeeks

Welcome to the forums!

Wow for a novice as you say you jumped right to Cisco products, May I ask why Cisco? Not that anything is wrong with it I was just wondering.

I am partial to Netgear products so I would recommend the Netgear CM600 for your modem found here it was also rated best high-speed modem 2018 by tom's guide. The modem is capable of up to 960 Mbps download and 240 Mbps upload speed.