RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
lordcroci

Proxmox - xpenology + vpn

lordcroci

Hi there!
I'm new around here, looked for the presentation thread but haven't found any! 
Anyway I hope to be able to contribute (as far as my newbie's knowledge will be useful :) )....

Speaking about what I'm trying to do, I have this amazing microserver gen8, on which I have 2 3tb wd red as storage and an ocz 125gb ssd on 5° port.. Installed a couple of days ago mr. PROXMOX (I'm a complete newbie to it too ) and configured the xpenology 6.0 that runs amazingly!
Now.. I'm just wondering which is the best option to configure a vpn (possibily openvpn) and from my inexperience I found a couple of options:
- try a container with turnkey debian 8 OpenVPN
- install ubuntu on a VM and setup openvpn
- try the vpn server on xpenology

or the least pleasurable
- install openvpn on my windows 10 pc and leave it turned on in way to access the microserver through vpn.. 
What do you think is better to do? Considering that I am a real noob and will need some guide or some tutorial (already googled something and Have found a lot of material on the openvpn site.. but honestly can't find so much about proxmox and vpn)

PS: sorry for my english, but I'm italian and I'm still learning! :)

thanks a lot!
Lordcroci

scorpi2ok2

You can try to install an openvpn server directly on PROXMOX.

I think you don;t need to install another VM just for vpn.

You can user openvpn as for example.

All OpenVPN Access Server downloads come with 2 free connected devices for testing purposes.

It comes with a nice WEBUi interface.

lordcroci
On 2/7/2018 at 11:51 AM, scorpi2ok2 said:

You can try to install an openvpn server directly on PROXMOX.

I think you don;t need to install another VM just for vpn.

You can user openvpn as for example.

All OpenVPN Access Server downloads come with 2 free connected devices for testing purposes.

It comes with a nice WEBUi interface.

Thanks a lot, I did that and it worked!