RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
FancyCakes

Self Introduction

FancyCakes

I didn't see a post or sticky for introductions, so I figured this was probably the best place to start.

Hi. I'm Ryan.

I've been a HSS/RESET listener for a few years and have lurked the forums off and on and finally feel like I need to become a bigger part of this community. I'm going to paste my profile bio below and then expand on that a little bit.

" My passion for tech started with our first family computer sporting a 66MHz CPU and 400MB harddrive. Discovering the world of DIY PCs in the late 90’s led me down an educational, then professional, path in the IT field, and soon I was modifying mice to add cooling fans, cutting up side panels to install case windows, and wiring in automotive LED and EL lighting products to enhance the aesthetics of my builds. There was no looking back. "

As stated above, I work in IT full-time and have been involved in the enthusiast PC industry since the late 90's as both a consumer and journalist. I've had my hands on, and in, everything from low-level consumer gadgets to enterprise-level storage systems from today's biggest manufacturers. That being said, I'm definitely not an expert at everything, but I've experienced a lot.

I've been a bit hesitant to hop into the cryptocurrency realm, as I have always kicked myself for not buying in when BTC was at around $20 and thinking that it going up to $50 made it way too expensive to get into. That hurt just typing that out. Listening to Dave and others like Jim and Mike over at Home Gadget Geeks has me wanting to get in on the action, so here I am.

Sure, there are nearly endless subreddits and blogs I could check out and comb through to learn from, but I've always been a fan of traditional forums and the communities they build up over time. Plus, I already have a feel for what this community is like having been a listener for so long.

Thanks for having me, and hope to see you on the boards!

• Like 1