RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Help me sort out RAID configuration

sx3

I Guys,

I'm running a Gen8 equpped with 2x3TB WD RED + 8 Gb RAM since last year. Only used as a NAS with Freenas. I'm a noob, without any *nix knowlage.

The disks are running in mirror-0/RAID 1 setup ATM.

Now I want to expand the use of the server, for CCTV. I haven't yet decided if I just want to dump captured data on the NAS or run a NVR software and dump the data aswell.

I was thinking following config:

1st set of HDD = 2x3TB in mirror-0, pure NAS for everyday use

2nd set of HHD = 2x3TB or bigger in mirror-0, save captured data from cameras.

1 USB flash storage

1 SSD 2,5" drive

This is where it's going beyond my knowage:

Should I setup ESXi on the USB drive and host 2 VM's on the SSD. 1 VM for Freenas and 1 VM for CCTV NVR software? Or is there any better way to solve this?

I'm planning on upgrading the CPU to a compatible Xeon from the CPU thread and add another 8Gb stick to the server.

Thanks for a great forum! :)

Are you setting up the RAID1 set you currently have with the B120i or are you just passing drives to FreeNAS?

What OS will the CCTV NVR software need to run on?

I have disabled the B120 and running AHCI at the moment.

It's a mirror-0 setup in FreeNAS for the WD-RED NAS discs.

I haven't yet decided which CCTV NVR to run, but ZoneMinder and Milestone are alternatives I'm considering.

Zoneminder runs on Linux dist, while Milestone requires Windows platform.

Forgot to mention in OP, I have a stand alone KNX home automation server running on Fujitsu Industry mobo I would like to virtualize aswell to get down the amount of physical servers in my house. :)

This one runs on Linux, and isn't demanding.. AMD T56 CPU now,