RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

DP to HDMI Active or Passive Adapter?

ColinK

Hi,

I am a newbie to servers, I used to leave this to my esteemed colleagues. I have received a GEN 10 server and 2 SATA drives, unfortunately they didn't come with any caddies or rails. In the meantime I have a Startech 6ft Passive DP to HDMI cable to my TV. The TV recognizes there is a cable but 'no signal' even when the server is on. My questions are; Should the server still provide some sort of output even if there are no SATA drives (ClearOS?). If so, is the Passive cable enough or do I need an Active adapter?

There are no trays for the drives. Take out the boot drive. You will see the large headed screws that guide the drive in place. Clear OS is not a graphical OS, so there may not be any output on the DP ports. What are you planning on using the server for?

Thank for the reply. In the UK mine did not come with any drives installed. After searching on HPE Support I found the relevant support docs, not as per the "START HERE Setup Information" leaflet. HP have handily supplied the screws just above the drive bays, 4 per drive.

Anyway, I would have thought I might have got something from the BIOS/POST utility (F2/F11) but no. Am I right to guess the ClearOS would only be installed on drive-supplied units? - So VGA screen is the only option?

Proposed usage will be a ESXi lab server to support virtual networking labs and networking products from Cisco CallManager, Juniper, etc.). My colleagues say some of the apps need serious CPU and RAM resources but the DL series is too big and noisy for a tiny apartment to the GEN 10 with 4 Core and 16Gb.