RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
skullsession

Buying advice: Travel NAS + Home NAS

skullsession

I've used a few low end NAS units in my work career but have yet to invest in one for myself. Looking for some advice from wiser folks than myself.

Summary: 

I'm a sports/tournament photographer. I photograph 50-200 gb per event (1-5 days). At the event my assistants import, sort, edit and customers view/order onsite in viewing trailer. 

Looking for advice for two NAS units:

A - basic, 6-8 TB 2 bay server to travel to events - shared to 6 tablets, files downloaded and sorted using two laptops (ethernet through router)

B - better, 24 TB 4 bay server at home - file storage, Lightroom/Photoshop, 1-2 user Plex media (1080p and below, not going 4k for awhile)

My thought process is to keep the current year files on the traveling NAS, then sync those files with the master NAS archive when I return home each weekend. Or perhaps that is overkill (I don't really need files accessible beyond current year, I can resource externals for those)

Existing setup:

On Road - Onsite files are downloaded to a laptop. Files shared wirelessly to tablets via Nighthawk router. Files sorted locally. 

- Bottleneck/speed issues - two laptops needs quick file access/management (current setup is so slow, laptop 1 shares files, laptop 2 maps drive path across wired connection)

..... Typically 300-1500 MB of photos are downloaded at once (regularly throughout day), then sorted into competitor folders (50-200 MB at a time) including folder renaming, etc.

- Customer tablet viewing speed not a consideration. Current setup is fast enough for that.

At Home - Desktop with three local drives of 4-6 TB (for 2017, 2016 and Plex), with dual backups rotated offsite, plus other externals for ancient archives.

Spare drives:

When I break this up, I'll have a spare HGST 6 TB drive to work with already for the small NAS as I'll no longer store many files locally.

Storage by year: