paradox

Where to go from the Gen8?

paradox

I love the Gen8, it's my first dedicated server unit and I've really enjoyed playing with it and modding it, learnt a lot of stuff from it etc - not like I'm new to building PC's or anything, my main PC is watercooled and everything, but I'd never dabbled with server hardware before. To this day it runs my Plex server with 58TB of storage on FreeNAS (although since I'm using ZFS I don't get that full capacity, but that's the total HDD capacity anyway.)

I'm actually running out of space! And I don't think FreeNAS can handle more space with the 16gig of RAM I have in the Gen8, and because it only has two slots I can't add more - so, back to the main question, where do I go from here? All I know is blade / rack servers look intimidating and scary compared to my Gen8 - also much more expensive. What are my options? 

When I was recently purchasing a new Gen8, I noticed the 'Gen10' and almost went for that, until I read some pretty terrible things about it, most importantly, to quote from another topic on here, "Processor soldered to motherboard, so you can forget upgrading down the line. (This also means that a Gen 8 upgraded with a Xeon is going to completely smoke even the top-end Gen 10)." And my Gen8 has a Xeon, so I guess the Gen10 is out? 

Am I looking at getting into rack/blade servers? Should I buy a huge tower case with 20 internal drive bays or something and build my own, is that possible? Can you buy 'server' motherboards to do just that, or do you just use 'regular' PC motherboards? Some advice on where to go from here would be great. I don't have a lot of money to spend, and these blade/rack servers I've seen seem to go into the thousands! why are they so expensive? They don't even come with hard drives! My Gen8 has about £2,000 worth of drives in it, and the unit itself only cost about £100!

Thanks in advance for any help guys.

Edited by paradox

depillow