RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

The basic problem

geek-accountant

I am sure there are others in somewhat similar situations as me here on the forums and plenty more in the general population. As my name implies, I am an Accountant. Specifically, I am the Controller of a national restaurant chain responsible for all accounting related functions, but NOT the IT department. Computers have been a fascination of my ever since dad brought home a Tandy computer with a EGA monitor and a huge 10meg hard drive. It was an 8088 computer and cost well over $3,500. I don't know how many times dad made me quit using it telling me I would wear out the keyboard. But I was hooked.

I spend a lot of time at work, so these are the people I interact with the most. I am good at accounting, but known for my tech hobby. Even by the IT group. My home network exceeds any of co-workers (some think I am borderline crazy). None of them, including IT run a home built router (pfSense) or A UTM (Untangle). Most of them, including IT, have never heard of Xenserver or Virtualbox much less tried it out. And while most of IT had heard of WHS, I have yet to run into anyone outside of our IT department that has heard of it.

I say all this so you know why most people in the office come to me for computer advice for their personal use. I have tried mightily to push WHS over the last couple of years. Taking the opportunity to bring up WHS when someone lost photos because their computer "fried".