RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Total newbie - can't even install Windows 7

baronsaturday

Hi all,

I got my Gen 8 today (used to have N40L) and I have no idea what to do. Can't even get Windows 7 installed. 

What I've done so far:

- made bootable W7 USB stick

- put the OS drive from my N40L in the new machine

- tried to reinstall Windows from the USB stick

It's now stuck in a loop where it says the Windows installation didn't complete properly and needs to restart to do it, then it restarts and goes back to the exact same place.

I've tried taking the OS drive out to see if I could install Windows on one of the drives I use for data but can't get to any kind of installation screen.

No idea what to do here and would appreciate any help.

The Gen8 has the B120i enabled by default, if you want your disk setup to be similar to the N40l you should change the storage controller to AHCI. I would only have your OS drive in the system when you are trying to load an OS. It would be easier to help you if you could share how you untimely want the server to be configured.

Thanks for response.

I've changed the storage controller to AHCI and removed all drives except the OS drive, which now has this broken Windows installation on it - straight after Windows starts loading it reboots the machine and would continue that loop all night if I didn't turn it off. I'm no longer getting as far as the error message.