RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Looking for a versatile offline system

Hello, all.  I'm brand new, here.  I am a master electrician and well familiar will all the pitfalls one might encounter with traditional switching and dimming.  I thought I was technically savvy and had a good grasp of the options concerning automation until I made my first nearly blind buy.

Here's where my story starts:

My company sprung for a trip for many of us to go to Las Vegas in 2014.  It was the Cosmo Hotel and among other luxuries in my room, I was particularly entranced by the smart switching and scene setting of all the lights.  This was the first time I encountered such control and I guess the magic aesthetic beauty of Caseta and RadioRa stuck in my mind.

Fast forward to a couple days ago and I realized I would need a dimmer on the Lithonia LED shop light which hangs above my desk.  This is a dimmer-capable light which has three prongs.  I went to Home Depot and took a look at their selection.  I knew I loved Caseta and wanted the same light show I had in Vegas.  I also realized the "lamp" dimming kit was only 2-prong, so I purchased the in-wall version with free Pico.  I got this kit home and spent a bit of time wiring it into a nice deep bell box with cord glands and an extension cord cut in half and finished it off with a nice white princess plate.  The absence of a neutral concerned me, but the box seemed to imply none was needed even for LED's.  I mounted it on the wall with heavy duty 3M Command strips.  I press the buttons on the device.  Nothing happens.  I then realized that it was a 2-wire switch and that the LED fixture does not have enough idle draw to power the dimmer.  After 2 hours of research, I realized there is in fact a version utilizing the neutral.  It's called the "PRO" and is not sold at Home Depot.  I ended up ordering it off Amazon for $74.  Not sure if I will regret that decision.