RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Newbie...how many hubs or bridges will I need?

NoSweat88

Hi!

I am a TOTAL newbie to home automation and I'm confused. Am I gonna need to plug in a hub/ bridge for EVERY new mfg. system I buy?

I see Phillips has a "bridge", SmartThings has a hub, WeMo, Logitech Hub, etc.

I am starting with lighting and my TV (not smart), cable box, Roku, and Chromecast.

As it stands now, I'm thinking Amazon Dot, WeMo switches , some Philips Hue bulbs and the Logitech Hub. I know I will need the Logitech Hub, but I'm not so sure about the Philips bridge and the Belkin hub. I'm also pretty sure I'll end up with Samsung SmartThings as well.

Will all these systems need their own hub or bridge?

Thanks in advance for all advice...I'll be seeking it often, I'm sure.

NoSweat88

Ha - welcome to the wallet-busting home automation project!  I've been at it for over a year now, and this is what I currently have in order of appearance: WeMo (I have fallen out of favor with them - don't really recommend today), Logitech Hub (don't get the associated Home Hub Extender...get SmartThings instead), Amazon Echos, Sonos (Bridge & Boost), SmartThings Hub, and Ecobee thermostat.  So really I have 3 hubs at this point (Sonos, Logitech, SmartThings), and I hope that will be it.  It all works great together...so much to learn with it all, but just take your time with it and have fun.

For lights, I am not sure if I will ever get Phillips.  I use a few GE wi-fi bulbs and z-wave switches/dimmers to control my lights (all assigned to SmartThings, and I can control them with Logitech Harmony and/or Echos).

Anyways - hope this helps a bit!  This is where I'm at today...

• Like 1