RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Ready for a new hobby

Hi Folks,

This all started with old light fixtures. I had three 3-bulb ceiling mounted fixtures that ate light bulbs monthly. I replace them with LED fixtures which can give me a tan if I stay under them long enough. So I decided to buy a dimmer switch, which made me think to get a Z-Wave switch so I could finally have some remote control over the lights. I also have a number of FOSCAM cameras around. I love fiddling with this stuff and have been pretty successful. I do it for a living and I enjoy it on my own time. I'm well versed in networking and I'm computer savvy, so this seems like a great way to spend some time and learn new things.

What I want in a system is local access (no Cloud services) and a nicely configurable controller that I can access remotely if need be. It seems the Universal Devices ISY944i is popular here. It certainly looks like a nice piece of equipment. I tried the Vera system and couldn't send it back fast enough.

My dimmer is a GE Z-Wave compatible switch. I take it since it's Z-Wave, it should pair up fine with the ISY944i? My goal is to get that one switch working and then start replacing other switches and then maybe look at door locks and thermostat controllers.

Is Z-Wave going to be around for awhile? Is Insteon? Is one preferable over the other?

schoondoggy

Z-Wave, Zigbee and Insteon all have industrial plays, so they have a good background and following. Apple HomeKit uses BLueTooth LE for connectivity. If HomeKit takes off, BlueTooth LE will be popular. In the past Z-Wave did not connect to Insteon, but the ISY994iZw does support Z-Wave. The Insteon hubs seem to work well from a local basis. I use SmartThings, the V1 hub needed to be online to work, the V2 hub supports many functions offline.

Thanks, guys. I think I'll start with the ISY944i and get my feet wet. I'll check out OpenHab, though. Sends interesting and coming up with a box to run it won't be hard.