RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Noob Questions

arkansascontrols

arkansascontrols

I'm considering a Home Automation / Security system and have been researching what's out there and boy oh boy is there a lot to choose from. 

I think I've settled on Z-Wave compatible devices but my question is really about Control and monitoring.

A little background info; 

I know NOTHING about any of the available systems (other than what I've been able to glean from the net, mostly ambiguous)

I am an Industrial Controls Engineer. I have been providing Factory Automation Solutions for over 25 years so I'm no stranger to Hardware (Input sensory and output devices), networking, programming etc. I'm familiar with Linux and I'm a decent programmer.  If I were doing this with Industrial components (PLC) I could do this in my sleep. However to use a PLC for what I have in mind would be prohibitively expensive. Thus I'm looking into Home Automation solutions.

-I prefer wireless devices, or devices that can be located at or near household receptacles for power but communicate wirelessly.

-I would like to be able to expand the system later to include camera's and other devices, but initially only a few entry switches and possibly a motion detector or glass break sensor. I should never need more than 100 or so inputs and outputs total though.

-Cost is not a factor (Although I'm not spending 10k on PLC and HMI) I would be willing to invest up to 1500 or so for the right system and components

-I'd prefer to use a Raspberry PI or Minnowboard for control and be able to access a user designed operator interface from iPhone, Laptop or possibly my TV (http server interface). I have a number of older PC's that I could devote to the project but I'd prefer something with clean packaging like the SoC boards mentioned. I know that there is a Z-Wave Daughterboard for the R PI and that is the direction I'm leaning.