RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

windows storage server or vail?

eagle63

Hey guys, newbie here working on a strategy for getting WHS running in my home. My question is, is there any reason I should wait for Vail vs going with windows storage server? I have (or will have soon) a technet subscription so cost isn't an issue. My understanding is that they are virtually the same except that WSS allows more users. Just want to make sure there isn't something important that I might be missing. Thanks!

As with any backup/storage solution, the way you intend to use it will ultimately make the decision. "Make a list....+'s and -'s

As with any backup/storage solution, the way you intend to use it will ultimately make the decision. "Make a list....+'s and -'s

Right, but my question was more about the differences between WHS and WSS. My list of requirements are already met by WHS. But if WSS is effectively the same (just more users) than it seems like a no-brainer.

The drive extender announcement change your mind any?

http://homeservershow.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1445&st=0

Wow, big news - but I gotta believe that microsoft will have some easy way of accomplishing the same thing - otherwise it's not really a consumer product anymore. As an aside, as a newbie coming into the WHS world I've been surprised that Microsoft is still pursuing this product. I can't really explain why, but it feels very much like a side-project or experiment for them. Regardless of today's news I wouldn't be at all surprised to seem them pull the plug on the product entirely.

WSS is a high end NAS and not meant to stream media such as movies, TV, music thru a user friendly interface.

http://blogs.technet.com/b/storageserver/archive/2010/09/22/windows-storage-server-2008-r2-is-now-available.aspx