RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
JDog04

Easiest way to backup, restore data for 3.0 upgrade?

JDog04

Hello All, newbie here. I recognize this is a forum for experts, programmers, etc., and not really for the novice user like me. However I have not had any luck getting a question answered on other forums. Any advice you might offer would be greatly appreciated.

I was hoping someone could advise me on the most efficient way to (i) backup my ~1.5 TB worth of files on my HP Mediasmart Server EX375, (ii) install the 3.0 upgrade, and (iii) restore my files. I will upgrade my RAM to 2 GB, and would like to reformat all my server hard drives. I'm hoping the easiest way involves restoring all my stored data via two WD USB backup drives rather than move all the files onto the server from networked PCs (I hope it would be faster this way).

To give you an idea of my level of sophistication, I have been backing-up and taking off-site two WD USB backup drives in an extremely inefficient way. I have been connecting the USB drives to networked PCs, then created a series of Briefcases in the USB drives containing the folders from the server and did synchronizations once a month as my backup means. [Q: could I possibley restore directly to the soon to be upgraded server those files in my Briefcases by connecting the USB drives directly to the server?]

Thanks a million, JDog04

usacomp2k3

Welcome to the forums! This is certainly a place for people of all knowledge levels.

How much free space do you have on the external drives? What is your drive configuration?

The easiest solution is that if you have enough drives, you can remove the from the pool one-by-one, and then move the data from the pool to the removed drives. Then just preform the reverse once you install the 3.0 software.

diehard