RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

4 or 8 Gig?

whsdude

Hey Guys-- love the podcast and the site.

My 1-yr old frankenbuild is getting long in the tooth. I'm Looking to do a build over the holidays very similar to the ones suggested in recent topics (GIGA board, I3 chip, etc).

I'm trying to decide whether to go 4G or 8G on memory on this eventual Vail box. Here's what I would use it for:

1) Client Backups

2) SageTV WHS Add-in, for video recording and streaming to extenders

3) SQL Server + Possible Webserver

Comment on #3 -- I'm a software developer and I may fire up an occasional app server, like ASP.NET, Liferay, Jboss to test/develop against for "fun" projects. On my current box, I tried to load up JBoss app server and it damn near took the WHS down. It's not like I would do this very often, but when I do, I don't want to hit any walls.

Thoughts or opinions?

Rob

Hey Guys-- love the podcast and the site.

My 1-yr old frankenbuild is getting long in the tooth. I'm Looking to do a build over the holidays very similar to the ones suggested in recent topics (GIGA board, I3 chip, etc).

I'm trying to decide whether to go 4G or 8G on memory on this eventual Vail box. Here's what I would use it for:

1) Client Backups

2) SageTV WHS Add-in, for video recording and streaming to extenders

3) SQL Server + Possible Webserver

Comment on #3 -- I'm a software developer and I may fire up an occasional app server, like ASP.NET, Liferay, Jboss to test/develop against for "fun" projects. On my current box, I tried to load up JBoss app server and it damn near took the WHS down. It's not like I would do this very often, but when I do, I don't want to hit any walls.

Thoughts or opinions?

Rob