RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
sketchzone

Question About Which Processor Is Best For Drawing

sketchzone

Hi, newbie here!  I am so happy to have discover the Surface Pro Artist website and this forum. There are so many reviews on the SP3 but nothing really gear for artists.

Apologies in advance if this question has been posted before (some of the earlier posts touch on this but nothing really in depth).

Can anyone give some insight into which processor: i5 or i7 is best for drawing/painting in photoshop, painter, sketchbook pro, etc?

The price differences is big enough between the two processors and while I would love to get the i7 with 256 GB, it certainly hits the wallet hard :(
Has anyone use photoshop on the i5? Does it run smoothly? Are there issues like heat or overall system sluggishness? Programs like photoshop utilize a lot of juice on a desktop, so I can only imagine how much power is require to run them on a mobile system.

Thanks!

callihan44

I personally would get the I-5 model and yes ive used photoshop on it with good results, both models will throttle when they reach a certain temp

• Like 1

sketchzone

Thanks for the advice callihan44 and just what I needed to know! 

I found an author reviewing the specs for SP3 online and he made an excellent point: it's a trade off between power and portability. Yeah, it would be cool to do some intensive video rendering but there are desktops and laptops build to handle that kind of work and which are far cheaper.

I like the fact that with 8 GB of RAM, I can do some serious photoshop work on a portable computer like SP3.

Edited by sketchzone

LazyZen

Thanks for the advice callihan44 and just what I needed to know! 

I found an author reviewing the specs for SP3 online and he made an excellent point: it's a trade off between power and portability. Yeah, it would be cool to do some intensive video rendering but there are desktops and laptops build to handle that kind of work and which are far cheaper.