RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Transitioning From Cintiq Comapnion To Sp3

Se7enDolors

Sorry if this has been asked before. I am a noob to the forums. 

In January I purchased a Wacom Cintiq Companion for my freelance graphic design on the side.  I love it! 

This month my Full-time job just gave us all Surface Pro 3's. I love it's size and profitability. 

I would love to transition fully to the SP3  and sell my cintiq but I miss my wacom side buttons and radial menu's 

I would be willing to give up the physical buttons in the transition to the SP3 if i could get the virtual buttons and radial menu on the surfacepro 3, like with the software that the Wacom tablet has. 

Is there a way to get those or something similar to the Wacom software on my surface pro 3? 

I tried downloading the Wacom feel it drivers but it said my hardware is incompatible. 

any help would be great thanks. 

Hey Se7enDolors, welcome to the forum. Check out my blog SurfaceProArtist.com where I try to address all of these issues.

The SP3 features an N-Trig digitizer, so it is no longer compatible with the Wacom drivers used for previous Surface Pros.

There is no radial menu at the moment, but it's on the Microsoft wishlist for the pen control panel they're developing. There's still no word on when it will be available.

I've published a couple of ArtDocks for the Surface Pro 1 and 2, but those are also incompatible with the 3. Fortunately, a user over at TabletPCReviews has written a toolbar creator based on AutoHotKey that does work with the SP3. He's tweaking the program a little based on my needs and as soon as he's done, I'll be posting a new set of controls that should work on all N-Trig devices.

I have installed the latest n-trig drivers. This is all good news. I will wait patiently! I will just keep working with both devices until then. Not a bad problem to have. 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account