RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Surface Pro Vs Pro 2

doglover8

I'm trying to decide if I need to spend the extra money on surface pro 2 or just buy a surface pro 1. I am planning on travelling over the next few months and do not want to lug my laptop around. I am a software developer (vs2013) but I do not intend to replace my laptop nor do I plan to work while traveling. I'm certain the surface pro meets my needs, but I have an inclination to always buy the most current since the life of a computer is so short. I'm OK with the differences in memory, disk space, processor and battery since I won't be using it as a main computer but as a companion computer; internet, email, movies, apps the usual light weight stuff (no gaming), but also windows office and some window's application. My hang up is getting comfortable with not buying the most current. I also believe in "you get what you paid for" so I don't want to skimp if it REALLY matters, but i would be nice to save the money.

Thoughts?

• Like 1

My two cents, if your needing the additional battery life I would go with SP #2. If budget is an issue and you want a little more bang for your buck the SP #1 is probably a better choice. I have been using the SP 1 going on a year. Dependable daily driver for home 75% and work 25%.

• Like 1

My two cents - battery life alone is worth the extra money to go for the 2 if you are a traveler. I bought my Surface the first week they were released a year ago, loved it (I travel constantly for work), but the battery life on the Surface2 was worth purchasing it again. I'd go with a 128GB 2 rather than a 128GB version 1. If you are traveling a lot (and I do) that is my biggest issue. If battery isn't an issue, then yes a surface will work fine, but I still recommend getting the newer one. I've been using mine for a year in my travels, I just get frustrated at having to keep a dim screen to survive a three hour flight.

• Like 1