RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

My Toshiba Encore Wt8 Unboxing Video For Surfacegeeks

Rob1488993271

I have just finished uploading a video of myself unboxing my Encore.

You can see it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWDjheMdTwo

I have linked to Surface Geeks in the description and at the end of the video.

Hopefully it will generate you guys some traffic! 

Haha, I doubt it though, I have never done a YouTube video before  :lol:

I did have some problems with McAfee, it is probably worth watching just to see how angry I got.

Nothing like ranting about that crap software, made me feel better.

Took me 4 hours to upload this video though, man.. I need some better internets. I put it on my friends YouTube account, he is hoping it might get him some traffic too  :o

Edited by Rob
  • Like 1

Glad to do it!  

As I sit on the couch making DNS changes and upgrades to the server with my Surface Pro 2 on my lap.  

;)

What did you think to the 93% CPU utilization by McAfee on a day 1 device?

I am shocked, still shocked. I expect it, but.. Pfft, I expected better this time around.

Edited by Rob

Love it, really surprised by the speed of the CPU. It even handles Visual Studio quite well.

I haven't had enough time to fully test everything I want to, but hopefully I will get around to it soon and I will definitely post an update.

I saw your unboxing video, wow, everything looks nicer over there haha, even the box looked better quality (a nice smell too?). It even sounds better, pronounced all French and such  :P

I have noticed a problem with the camera picker API, it seems to lock the camera in portrait mode on the Encore - appears to be a device (driver/firmware?) bug and not something the app developers can fix or override. So if you notice weird camera orientation in some apps, this will be why. I should report it, but I have no idea how to  :wacko:

On to the most important question.. Do the US owners get the lovely McAfee software?

Wish list: