RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

PowerShell for the WHS? (from show 69)

jcollison

• 7 months later...

I've blogged about installing PowerShell version 2 onto WHS here http://richhewlett.com/2010/07/06/installing-powershell-on-windows-home-server/

I'm surprised that this forum post didn't get more interest. PowerShell is an awesome tool to manage Windows Servers including WHS. I'm converting all my batch scripts over to PowerShell as it provides more flexibility and power. It's worth checking out if you do any sort of automation on your server.

A quick look at your blog looks like PowerShell is probably geared towards someone with a programming background and not the average hobbyist.

However, I think many of us would be interested in learning how you have used it to create your automation and what you are using it to accomplish.

It's fair to say that I have taken to Powershell easily becuase I am a software developer, but PowerShell is geared towards the IT Professional as opposed to developers. Which is interesting as developers don't often see the benefits either. The majority of literature on PowerShell is aimed at IT System Administrators and those with some experience writing scripts to automate tasks on Windows. If you use batch scripts to do scheduled tasks then that experience wil prove useful as PowerShell supports normal command line actions. If you open up PowerShell (its included in Windows 7) and type "dir" or "cls" etc then they will perfrom the same actions as if you did them from the normal Windows comamand prompt. It basically provides a shell environment for Windows that can be scripted it allows you to automate tasks through scripting.