RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Hardware recommendation

Kwan

Hi all,

I've been reading and learning here and happy to have found this site. I am a WHS noob and this is gonna be my first build. I want this mostly for media storage, ripping with EAC to flac, HD content output to a TV and seeding lots of torrents. I have a budget of $500-$650. I've been looking at the Core I3-540 and the Gigabyte GA-H55M combination. I haven't settled on a case but I would like something future proof in regard to HD addition. Let me know what you think .

:)

You want to hook the WHS up to a TV? WHS's are set up to be headless.

What type of media streamers do you have to use insted?

While it probably could be done, using a WHS box as an HTPC isn't really supported. Typically, the approach would be to use WHS as a headless box, and then have either an HTPC or other media streaming device connected to the TV. I keep my server in the office closet, and then use my xbox to play movies and whatever else from the server on my TV. There have been various ideas around of running Media Center on a computer and using virtualization to run WHS as well, or possibly doing it the other way around. Otherwise, if the backup functionality isn't important to you, I would just build an HTPC and let it stream media to other computers.

I should add that I plan to use this as a HTPC as well. :)

To be completely frank, that's not really a support usage scenario. You'd be better off to have separates.

K guys I really appreciate the fast reply. Lets just focus on the WHS for now. I could work with headless for now with a eye on upgrading in the future. What MB and processor combination would you advice me on? I would be looking to add about 5 HD's for starters so the case must have room for this.