RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
RMansfield

Has Anyone Used Powerpoint On The Rt With A Projector Extensively Yet?

RMansfield

This past Sunday, I attempted to use my Surface RT in a teaching setting at church for the first time. I've been doing this with an iPad for the last three years, so my comparisons are primarily made to that.

In regard to a couple of problems I ran into, I'd be interested in knowing if anyone else here has used PowerPoint on the RT extensively yet and what kind of feedback you might offer.

I created the slideshow on my MacBook Pro in Keynote (which will export to PowerPoint format). It's not that I couldn't have done it on the Surface RT, but I generally take the previous week's file and use that as a template for the new presentation. And the previous week, I had used Keynote on my iPad. Also, I wanted a backup plan. I wanted to have my iPad handy with the same presentation on it in Keynote just in case I ran into a problem with the Surface RT. Although I had a couple of glitches, I stuck with the Surface RT for the entire time, but I admit I did come away a bit frustrated.

Since I had not used the Surface RT in a teaching setting before, I arrived a bit early so that I could connect the Surface to the projector and play with it a bit. I had no trouble getting the projector to recognize the Surface RT. The screen on the Surface adjusted itself to mirror the maximum resolution the projector was capable of (1024 x 768). By the way, I was using the VGA adapter that Microsoft makes for the Surface. I also have the HDMI adapter, but this particular projector did not have an HDMI port.

One thing I immediately noticed is that when I swiped the Start screen from side to side, there was a bit of a flutter as the screen redrew itself. It seemed as if mirroring the screen was putting a bit of a strain on the Surface.