RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
Sign in to follow this  
HiramSS

Issues With Displaying Through A Projector

HiramSS

I am a Church Pastor with a weekly Bible Study.  I prepare it with MS PowerPoint 2013 for Windows. I use the VGA Adapter I bought with the Surface to connect to the VGA cable that comes from the BenQ projector.

The connection initially seems ok, but after a few minutes a number of things can and do happen:

1- PPt opens up in presentation mode, then closes

2- PPt starts in presentation mode then switches to slide show mode, but doesn't advance

3- PPt shows on my Surface, but only my pc wallpaper shows on screen

4- Surface display switches from Duplicate to Extend (or vice-versa, I think)

5- Others I don't recall

Eventually, I give up :angry:  and take out my laptop, and the presentation runs smoothly.

One of the main reasons I got the Surface was as a productivity tool, so that I wouldn't have to travel with my laptop!

This smells like a problem with the Surface/VGA Adapter, and its connection to the VGA cable. (I guess.)

Can anyone shed light?

Thanks.

schoondoggy

Are you duplicating your display or extending to the second display?

I have had good luck with 2013 PPT if I extend the display to the projector.

I think I had the same experience as you, one time when I duplicated my screen.

When you extend to the projector in PPT 2013 and you enter presentation mode, you get the PPT on the projector/second screen and on the main screen you get the slide, preview of the next slide and your notes.

Edited by schoondog
  • Like 1

HiramSS

Schoondog, I get an error message when trying to like your post., but thanks sooooo much!

I'll try this and get back. Sounds promising.

God bless you.

HiramSS

I'm back Schoondog:

1- Did exactly as you suggested last week, and it began fine.  (Actually, I eventually tried Duplicate and others, and it would always go back to Extend.)